She’s got a chicken to ride

What’s your favourite Mondegreen?

For ages, I listened to Macy Gray’s “I Try”, hearing her sing “I wear goggles when you’re not here“. I knew that just had to be wrong. (The mental image of someone surreptitiously slipping on the googles and swanning about the house pining for their absent lover is seductive though, isn’t it..)

For the life of me, I could not make out the real words. And apparently I’m not the only one.

There’s a new song on continuous play on the FM radio at present that seems to have something about ostriches in it. I’ll see if I can track it down and update this post when I do.

update: The song is “This ain’t a scene, it’s an arms race” by Fallout Boy, and what I hear is “This ain’t a city, it’s a dead ostrich“. The actual lyrics are supposedly “This ain’t a scene, it’s a god damn arms race.”

So if anybody out there cares, got a Mondegreen for me?

She’s got a chicken to ride
She’s got a chicken to ri-i-ide
She’s got a chicken to ride
My baby donkey…
(the Beatles’ “Ticket to ride”)

2 Responses to “She’s got a chicken to ride”


  1. 1 sxKitten March 16, 2007 at 8:39 am

    My 5-year-old son has been singing with The Beach Boys, with some interesting results. The two he’s most resistant to correcting are “Wish they ought to be California giiiiiirrrrrrrrrrls” and “There’s a place where I can go and tell my secret stew.”

    I’m trying to get the stew recipe from him, actually.


  1. 1 The chicken has a new ride. « The Strange Adventures of Petunia Happenstance and her Chicken of Destiny Trackback on June 20, 2008 at 7:03 am

Leave a Reply

