Cold Cheese on Dough

To: Store 1547 Store Manager by hand
cc: Complaints department, Pizza Hut. By email

Subject: Service problems

There’s an old saying: “Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me.
Well, I have to say that I’m twice shamed, as I’ve been to Pizza Hut Bentleigh East (Store 1547) three times in the last 6 months and each time been the victim of a really annoying service problem.

I’ll detail the most recent one first, as it’s fresher in my memory.

My son and I dropped in at Store #1547 last night. We ordered two large pizzas to go, were told they would be 12 minutes or so and we sat to wait while an interminable soap ran on the store TV. After about 15 minutes, I began to wonder what was happening and started paying attention to the activity in the rear.

One person was making pizzas, the other was taking them from the oven. The latter person took out two pizzas, sectioned them and put them in boxes on the stainless steel counter. He then leaned on the counter and watched the “maker” work. Then he pulled out a garlic bread and put them on one of the boxes and went back to resting. I said to my son “Those two pizzas are probably cooling down fast on the steel benchtop, so I’m glad they’re not ours, since we didn’t order garlic bread!” Then he pulled out another pizza and sectioned it. Then he leaned on the benchtop and chatted to the maker. Then he took a pile of dockets and riffled them. In turn he opened each pizza box in turn and peered at the pizzas. He picked up the two pizzas that had first come out of the oven and called us to the counter to collect them. This was about 7-8 minutes after they were sectioned and left on the steel benchtop. Needless to say, they were pretty much cool by the time we got them home. We were not impressed.

On two well-spaced previous occasions we have ordered by phone and come to collect the pizzas. Both times we arrived at the store, identified ourselves and were told the pizzas were not quite ready and we’d be called when they were. On both occasions, we waited about 20 minutes watching pizzas being taken out of the oven, sectioned and put into the warming cabinet. On both occasions we have come to the counter after that 20 minutes to inquire, and been given pizzas that we had seen being put into the cabinet at least 10 minutes ago!

There is something drastically wrong with Pizza Huts’ procedures here, when identified customers sit waiting in the store for long competed pizzas. This doesn’t happen at your competitors’ (Dominoes) stores – they seem to be taking substantially more pride in efficient procedures.

I must say I am disappointed. I thought that by ordering personally the third time there would be no problem. I was wrong.

I’ve attached a copy of our receipt so you can see the time and date of service.

(Name and address supplied)

6 Responses to “Cold Cheese on Dough”


  1. 1 microsoar April 7, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Received the next day:

    Dear John,

    Thank you for contacting us regarding your experience. I would certainly like to follow up the issues you have raised with the Store and Area Management teams.

    Once the matter has been addressed you will receive a formal response in the mail, to the address provided, outlining the actions we have taken.

    Regards,
    Alicia
    Yum! Customer Relations

  2. 2 Doug April 8, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    A Dear John letter! I’ve never received one. Was it traumatic?

    I like the Yum! You could reply with a Yuck! Unhappy Customer.

  3. 3 microsoar April 8, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    Doug: No more traumatic than usual; sorry I missed your live blog. I was out having a pleasant bike ride in the Autumn sun,

    Maybe I’ll score a coupon or two for a free pizza… an opportunity to be poorly served yet again.

    “Tricon” in the USA, the parent company of Pizza Hut, KFC and Taco Bell, once sent me a letter asking me to do all sorts of paperwork to certify that (Australia only) flight planning software I distribute as freeware was warranted error free and to detail my support structure. Presumably someone in the Australian arm of the company had downloaded it and somehow when they audited the PC’s it showed up, so they decided it must be essential software. It was going to cost me a day or more to do what they wanted.

    Fat chance.

  4. 4 microsoar May 10, 2007 at 10:04 am

    Update: (10th May)
    Yum! has sent me a gift youcher for $13.94 (for Pizza Hut before 17th May) and a sort of apology.

  5. 5 microsoar June 27, 2007 at 8:36 pm

    Update:
    the people at the store honoured the voucher, but insisted that I couldn’t use it on any discounted lines. So I wasn’t able to get the same value as the original purchase.

    Figures.


  1. 1 Balls and Walnuts - more than you ever wanted to know » Thirteen venereal diseases Trackback on April 6, 2007 at 2:50 pm

Leave a Reply

