Books three

Not sure I want to play this game but I’ve been Tagged by Walnut, for…

The Little-Known Favorites Meme. Rules: List and describe three of your favorite books that other people might not be familiar with. Then tag five people. See, easy!

Here they are:

Unknown title by Unknown Author

When I was a teenager I discovered some boys adventure books my Dad had as a kid. The one I remember best was about a British flying ship – literally an “armed merchant ship” of the 30’s and 40’s made of a miraculously light metal and able to be ballasted with an equally miraculous lighter-than-air gas. Its’ arch enemy was a copy of itself made from stolen plans by a middle-European power (of course). A marvelous, rollicking yarn. But I can’t remember the title or the author. How little-known can you get? Even I don’t know.

Earth by David Brin
Almost everything Brin does is pretty good, even if Kevin Costner screwed “the Postman” big time. Twenty years ago I had the opportunity to see Niven, Brin, Pohl and McCaffrey live in a panel discussion, and he impressed me mightily. Earth combines Nivenesque science fiction with cyberpunk – and makes Gibson look a little silly. An extraordinarily prophetic book in some ways.

The People: Pilgrimage by Zenna Henderson and The Bloody Sun by Marion Zimmer Bradley

Yes, I know, there are 2 books here, but I can’t choose. I read these as a teen in Ace pulp paperback, probably in one of those “back to back” editions, (so maybe they qualify as one book).

The People: Pilgrimage (no longer in print, but collected with The People: No Different Flesh as “Ingathering”, now) tells the poignant story of groups of scattered refugees from another world – with special abilities – and a high moral ethic. It moved me at the time; I’m afraid to revisit it. You can’t go back.

The Bloody Sun (1964) is an early Darkover novel. Maybe I liked it because it made me feel like perhaps having red hair wasn’t such a bad thing. Well, the story was pretty good too…

The chain stops here. I’m not taggin’ nobody.

3 Responses to “Books three”


  1. 1 Doug May 25, 2007 at 2:59 am

    See, that wasn’t so painful!

    I know what you mean about not going back. I had had fond memories of Arthur C. Clarke’s Against the Fall of Night, but when I reread it, I was mightily disappointed. Same with Willard Price’s Amazon Adventure, the first book of a series I ate up when I was a kid. As an adult, the racism/sexism offended me, and I don’t think I was able to read more than two chapters.

    Thanks for playing.

  2. 2 microsoar May 25, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Can’t go back: to anything by Heinlein

    “Stranger in a Strange Land” is regarded as a seminal work. For me it signalled the point at which the rot set in.


  1. 1 Balls and Walnuts - more than you ever wanted to know » Three old favorites Trackback on May 25, 2007 at 3:56 am

Leave a Reply

