Yes, I’m still here!

Events in the Chickens coop have mostly conspired to keep me from this blog; not that there hasn’t been time, but psychic energy has definitely been flagging.

Mostly it’s been work.   Just as I had determined that I needed to do a major rethink of the whole business, along comes enough orders to keep me bone-tired but sleepless every evening for a month.  Sadly, it’s not very lucrative work so an underlying business problem still remains. Maybe it’s time to move on.  I’ll possibly have more to say on that in a later post, I guess.

The weather doesn’t help.  It’s just passed the winter solistice, so cold, damp and fog greets me each morning. That’s never a great start for my day, especially in an essentially unheated workshop.

We (me and Ms Canada) are off to Tasmania in October for my sisters’ 50th birthday.  It’s the second 50th for me and the sibs. The whole crew landed on my doorstep a couple of years ago to hold a wake for my first half-century.  We promised then that we’d do it every time one of us passed the milestone. As a result  I have three trips to Queensland to schedule over the next 7 years.

Scattered to the four winds, we don’t see each other all that often.  We don’t live in each others’ pockets or get the chance to get on one anothers nerves.  As a result, it’s generally a pleasure to get together, compare  offspring, prosperity and waistlines.

2 Responses to “Yes, I’m still here!”


  1. 1 Doug July 15, 2007 at 11:06 am

    I hope you’ll post Tasmania photos. Sounds like an adventure, but to me, even Australia would be an adventure.

  2. 2 microsoar July 15, 2007 at 6:56 pm

    Hardly an adventure! A 1hr plane trip to Hobart. A night in a cheap(ish) motel. A drive up to the mountains behind Hobart to my sis’s cottage for the party. Nother night in the cheap(ish) motel and back on the plane across Bass Strait for work on Monday.

    But it’ll be nice to touch base with the family nevertheless!

    But if you insist, yes, just for you Doug, there Will Be Photos.


Leave a Reply

