A Century!

I’m in training yet again for the “Around the Bay” bike ride in October. It’s 210km and I’m by no means confident of my ability to finish it.

On Sunday, I took time off from the usual leisurely 40-60km ride with the club and hit the road for a solid session at a good pace instead. My route followed the worst part of the Around the Bay ride – from my home down to Beach road, then over the hills from Frankston to Dromana. And then back again (which you don’t have to do on the real ride)

It was 106km by my odometer, and it took me 4-1/2 hours of riding, with one short stop at Mt Martha for a coffee and sticky bun. That’s not exactly a cracking pace, but given that there was a lot of hill climbing, I’m not unhappy with the average speed of 23.5 km/hr. Presumably with a bit more training I should be able to improve on that. I’d be very happy with a 25km/hr average for the real ride.

0 Responses to “A Century!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

