Pimp your write.

Kate is running a writing contest over at her place. The task? Use 400 words or less to reveal a secret, but not explicitly. My daughter, (the Writer In Training), has entered. Can you pick it?

Here’s advance notice, people. In December, I’m running a contest of my own. I assure you, it Will Be Fun. (Or Else.) I’ll publish details soon.

Other news from the World of the Chicken: I’ve just had an interview for a part time temporary job. I haven’t had one of those for years, so it’s a strange experience, particularly since the interviewers are so much younger. While I aced the numerical and literacy testing (with a speed they found noteworthy), I’m not sure I told them what they wanted to hear in the behavioural section of the discussion. I guess I’m terminally crusty.

I should hear today whether I make the second round. Cross virtual fingers for me.

Update Thursday 3pm: Made the second round – interview tomorrow at midday.

Update: Friday 4pm: Had the interview. Seriously, I have No Idea how it went. The interviewers were one mature woman of my own age and a Young Thing from Human Resources. The MW, I think, was happy enough. The Young Thing, though, didn’t have enough lines on her mask of a face for me to read it very well.

Update: Tuesday 5pm. Didn’t get the job. Reason: “not enough experience in the specific role.” Hmmm, shouldn’t have told them I was up to try something new, hey?

3 Responses to “Pimp your write.”


  1. 1 Dean November 9, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Good luck!

    I’ve reached a point where my bosses are often younger than I am. It takes a little getting used to.

  2. 2 Doug November 9, 2007 at 3:50 pm

    Well, many of my patients are MUCH younger than I am, and many are MUCH older. My only yardstick for aging? When the patients I’m attracted to turn out to be grandmas. I haven’t had the hots for any great-grandmas yet, but it’s bound to happen sooner or later.

  3. 3 sxKitten November 10, 2007 at 5:25 am

    Good luck!

    In the last year, I’ve gone from being the youngest person in the (admittedly older than average) marketing department to the den mother in the (admittedly alarmingly youthful) product management department. It’s an odd feeling.


Leave a Reply

