Around The Bay in a Day 2008 Ride report…

I rode from home (East Bentleigh) to the Westgate onramp and was a good citizen and waited for the official 5:30 opening unlike some.

The run down the bridge was a bit scary. Just after the bridge there was a 2-down only 10m ahead of me; fortunately I was keeping some distance as it got awfully dark in places. People were taking out bollards quite regularly. It also got very dark in places on Kororoit Creek Road with no decent street lighting.

As I was a bit worried about the knees (they’d been twinging over the previous week so I’d rested them) I was ignoring my ego and taking it pretty easy. The ride down to Geelong was against a headwind, so finding a bunch or two to draft helped my knees a lot.

However, after Geelong when we 250 riders split to the left, the long slope up to Leopold tested them somewhat, as did the climbs between Drysdale and Portarlington. Then of course, the headwind and some drizzle greeted me on the haul to Queenscliff.

Waiting for the ferry (arrived at about 10:50, was supposed to catch the 11:30, but ended up on the 12:00) I ate my chocolate chicken sandwich (the chocolate cake icing had smeared everything in the package) and caught up with a fellow bent rider, Charlie (who wasn’t on his bent).

The ferry attendant got snarky about me waiting to put my bike on the outside of the stack (the tail box is too fragile to have bikes leant on it).

Not a lot to report until the dreaded climb up Mt Martha, which I crawled up in granny gear with everyone passing. There was a hellofa crowd at the top recovering, but I decided to recover while I coasted down the other side. The last part of that descent is really a bone-shaker!

Another slow section up the hill to Mt Eliza, but a quite a rush after the climb, coasting down the hills at over 60km/hr – then the short climb to the top of Olivers Hill and riding the brakes down the hill into Frankston, but still doing about 70 despite smoking pads.

Just another Beach Road ride with a nice tailwind back through Seaford. Got a “Hi Raptor” from Mbike23 (a BV Forum rider) who rode with me for some kilometers (thanks!) who proved to have more left in the tank than I, so I waved him ahead at Edithvale.

A coffee at Mordialloc was just what I needed to get home, so I bid Beach Road adieu at Warrigal Rd and headed northward as the siren call of a hot shower seemed very loud at this point.

As I write, I certainly have very tired legs after almost exactly 9 hrs of riding, but the rest of me seems fine. A personally moulded seat and a headrest are definitely good for minimising other aches and pains!

Afterword:

According to the cycle computer I actually rode only 235 km in 9 hrs and 10 minutes with an average speed of 25.6km/hr. That’s about the same speed as last year, but a longer ride, and since I was taking it easy to spare my knees, I figure that’s not bad!

Since I officially started tracking mileage in July, I put in 2011km of “official” training rides, with a maximum training ride distance of 150km about 4 weeks prior to the ATB.

0 Responses to “Around The Bay in a Day 2008 Ride report…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

