Endings

I’ve avoided writing about my job over the last year or so, mainly because it deals with a large distributed client base and I didn’t (and still don’t) really want to inadvertantly cause problems for either myself or my employer by saying the wrong thing.  So excuse me if I name no names. ( Dean has made a habit of giving his workplaces fanciful and (perhaps) significant names – like “Tombstone”.  I’ll refrain from this as well, lest I let something slip).

In early February, though, I handed in my notice.  Today’s my last day. 

I started this job 16 months ago when the bottom pretty much dropped out of my self-employed occupation.  The new job was sort of related to what I was previously doing.  The only snag was that the new job was advertised as a “sales” related position as well as requiring technical expertise and a willingness to get “down and dirty” in operational matters.  I was set certain sales targets for new business.

I would say that I handled the technical and operational parts of the job well.  Customer satisfaction with the product and our service improved out of sight.  I won back previously lost business by promising and delivering a high level of service.  On the new sales side, I was not quite so successful.  In (very quick) hindsight, the targets set were always wildly unrealistic, but you can’t know that when you don’t have access to the company’s books before you accept the job.  My targets, if met, would have doubled the company’s turnover in the first year.   Add to the mix a shrinking market with more and larger competitors and the “GFC” and not only were more people fighting over a shrinking customer pie, existing customers were crying poor and fighting for discounts.   It’s a recipe for a very hard slog, particularly if you are being paid minimum wage and (as it turned out, minimal) commissions are supposed to make up the balance of your income.

Well, it’s (almost) over now, and this evening I walk out the door with some very interesting experiences under my belt.  In a couple of weeks, I start work for a much larger company, for a significantly better salary.  It’s going to be out of my comfort zone, but hey, I seem to be making a habit of that lately. 

How the present company will fare, I have no idea.  It is going to be a hard year for them, I have no doubt.  I have done my best to leave the job in a better state than I found when I entered it.   After working so hard to get things running the way I liked them, it’s hard to walk away knowing that much of your work will simply be swept aside because your replacement will not have the same commitment, time or priorities.   

Nevertheless I wish them well; we part on relatively good terms and I have tried my best to ease the transition.

Expect a new post – New Beginnings, perhaps, in a few weeks.

1 Response to “Endings”


  1. 1 Miriam March 31, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Tombstone! Brilliant.

    And Dad – yeah, the business might fall to pieces without you, and it’s a shame after you made so many improvements that just won’t be carried over.
    But it’s not your business. You’re used to behaving as though it were, because you’ve been running a business that WAS yours for so long – but in the end, all that matters is, you provided excellent service for sixteen months’ worth of clients. And you’ll go on being awesome at the new job.

    And if you get bored of that, then start writing a goddamn novel already.


Leave a Reply

