Should I drink it?

My Bulgarian neighbour usually asks me to look after his mail and keep an eye on the place when he goes on holidays. Every time he returns bearing a bottle of “Bulgarian brandy”, or “rakia” as a gift.

Pictured is this years bottle, which he gave me with the apology that “mostly we make our own brandy which is better, but I hope this is good.”

Now, a couple of years ago he came back with some of that home made rakia.

I tried to drink it, I really did. But it didn’t matter what you mixed with it, it still tried to fry my tonsils.

Eventually, as I’d hurt my Achilles tendon, I ended up mixing the last dregs with a bit of water in a ziplock baggie and freezing it. It made a great cold pack (the alcohol lowers the freezing point so you end up with a mouldable ice pack.)

Now, I have absolutely no idea how to check if the bottle pictured is even brandy, not rat poison, since I can hardly enter the name into Google.  There is a 40% number on the bottle, which presumably means 40% alcohol.

Ideas anyone?  Is this a rakia for drinking, or a rakia for lying down and avoiding?

3 Responses to “Should I drink it?”


  1. 1 Doug October 27, 2008 at 7:25 am

    But what does it taste like?

    You won. You dominated. Come over to my place and see.

  2. 2 Christine October 27, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Home-made rakia is typically about 20% stronger than the mass-produced stuff so if anything this one should be more tolerable.

    And I’m guessing that might be apricot.


  1. 1 Balls and Walnuts - more than you ever wanted to know » Froschmausekrieg Trackback on January 12, 2009 at 10:50 am

Leave a comment